Carlpedia
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Dropbox

Transfer of file and folder ownership is best managed in advance of the day of departure from Carleton, as this will ensure the most granular issuance of ownership to those needing to own one of potentially many Shared Folders. Once an account has gone to a deleted state, there is a one time opportunity for an ITS Dropbox administrator to assign ownership of all folders and files to a different team member's Dropbox. Shared folder relationships may also be transferred. For example, if the former team member owned a shared folder, ownership of the folder goes to the recipient. Some other things, such as shared links, are not transferred.

See the following link for a complete list of what is and is not transferred: https://www.dropbox.com/help/4253

Transferring Ownership

Transfer ownership of a shared folder prior to departure of a Carleton Team member

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Select the Sharing tab from the sidebar on the left.
  3. Scroll to the Folders in your Dropbox section.
  4. Click the Share link to the right of the shared folder.
  5. Select make owner from the pull-down menu and confirm your choice.

Transfer ownership of a shared folder after a Carleton Team member has departed

Terms for inactive user accounts

Delete - The user is permanently removed, and a license is freed. An account that has been deleted has a one-time opportunity, by an ITS System Administrator, to transfer files to another Carleton Team member.

Suspend - Revoke a user's access with the option to unsuspend the account.

 

  • No labels