Carlpedia
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
Table of Contents

Overview

As you transition to post-Carleton life, there are a few things you should take care of during your final term on campus, specifically regarding any digital materials that are tied to your Carleton account which will expire after you leave

During your time at Carleton you have created documents, presentations, posters, and more that you may wish to keep. You may be the owner of resources for an organization or committee which you now need to transfer to someone else. And, of course, there's likely to be a lot of email that you may (or may not) want to keep for future reference. This page is intended to be a quick one-stop reference and reminder of the digital aspects of your Carleton career which you may want to archive or transfer. It also includes links to pages with more detailed instructions on how to do so.


If you have any questions on the following information, please don't hesitate to contact the ITS Helpdesk via our support portal at go.carleton.edu/helpdesk, by phone at 507-222-5999, or through email at helpdesk@carleton.edu.

Class of 2022 - Digital Departure Deadline - July 31st, 2022

  • Individual deadlines are noted below each heading in italics.
  • In general, it will be easier for you if you try to complete as much of the work as possible before you leave campus.




Account Expiration Timelines

The following table shows the standard account expiration timelines for Carleton students, staff, and faculty. As always, there are exceptions to every rule, but this will provide you with an idea of the amount of time you have to complete your digital departure. (For more details, please refer to the ITS Account Eligibility article).

Students (Undergraduate Degree)

Student Account expires at the end of July of their graduating year.

Faculty
Instrument / Vocal Instructors
Account expires 30 days after their last work date.
Staff (Bi-Weekly, Exempt, Union)Account expires on their last work day.




Archiving or Transferring Email

Class of '22 Deadline:  End of July
After July, messages in your Carleton mailbox vanish and are non-recoverable; mail sent to your address will be returned to the sender.

While it is tempting to simply move all of your email from your Carleton Gmail account to, for example, your personal Gmail account, we suggest that you consider archiving your Carleton email instead. One of the main reasons for this is that there is no elegant method for transferring email between two different systems. The methods below will work, though they will not transfer the labels that you have created in your Carleton account. Remember, although labels look like folders, they are not actual folders which means that they do not transfer. This means that all of your Carleton emails will come through in a single, very long list that you may need to sort, depending on how you want to use it.

Archiving email has the advantage that you are simply downloading and storing the email for future reference, in case you need to refer back to it in the future. It helps to keep your old Carleton email separate from your current (or new) email, in a searchable location for those times that you need to refer back to it.


This page contains macros or features from a plugin which requires a valid license.

You will need to contact your administrator.

Set up an auto reply (aka vacation reply) in your Carleton Gmail to inform people that your email address will be changing. Do this early to reach the most people.
Transfer email from your Carleton Gmail account to a personal Gmail account using these instructions from Google.
Transfer email from your Carleton Gmail account to Outlook online.
Archiving your email using Apple's Mail email client (macOS).
Archiving your email using MailStore Home (Windows only)



Documents and Files

Class of '22 Deadline:  End of July 
After July, you will lose access to Carleton's Dropbox and Google Drive, and shortly thereafter, your files will be irretrievably deleted.

During your time at Carleton, you have undoubtedly written and created a lot of material which is stored digitally in various places on our network: Course assignments in Moodle, that Photoshop masterpiece stored in Dropbox, collaborative documents on Google Docs, or even a personal or class website. Once your Carleton account expires, you will lose access to these files which will eventually be deleted from our systems. The links below provide more information on accessing and transferring these types of files.


Accessing and saving files from your Moodle courses.
Accessing and saving files from your Carleton Google Drive.
Accessing and saving files from your Carleton Dropbox account.
Moving or changing ownership of websites you've created on sites.carleton.edu.
Transferring files from your ArcGIS Online account.



Passing the Baton: Groups, Files and More

Class of '22 Deadline:  End of July
Mailing lists and organization resources that have no on-campus owners will be scheduled for deletion, so please pass them along to someone who isn't graduating.

If you have been an active member of a student group or organization, or a perhaps college committee during your time campus, it is possible that you are the designated owner or administrator of either the corresponding mailing list or other network resources. Before you leave Carleton, you should be sure to transfer such ownership to your lucky successor (or other member of the group). Mailing lists that have no on-campus owners will be scheduled for deletion, so please pass them along to someone who is not graduating.

Student organizations whose leaders have all graduated may be considered inactive by the CSA, so if the organization is to continue, you will need to hand it off to the next generation. You will need to designate next year's org leader and transfer network folder and web resources to help.

Instructions on both can be found at the links below.


All mailing lists you own must be transferred to someone who isn't graduating. Any lists that end up without a valid owner will eventually be closed..
If you lead a student organization, you must transfer ownership of online resources to someone who isn't graduating.
Any (non-personal) Dropbox files or folders for which you are the owner must be transferred to a new owner.
Any (non-personal) Google Drive files for which you are the owner must be transferred to a new owner.



DUO Two Factor Authentication


DUO two factor will remain in place on your Carleton account until it fully transitions to an alumni account. In the event that you change or upgrade your cell phone this summer, having DUO backup codes will make setting up your new phone a lot easier.



Your Alumni Account and Staying Connected

Deadline:  N/A

ITS provides several computing services to Carleton alumni, to help ease the transition into the post-Carleton world and to provide ways of keeping in touch with other alumni and the Carleton community. You will continue to have access to web resources like the Hub and the Alumni Directory after graduation. For services like these, you will continue to sign in using your current username and password.


The home page for all Alumni computing support needs.
The home page for Carleton's Alumni Network, including the Alumni Directory.




;